Shine Brighter Now


1 Comment

Learning by doing – Repetition and Awareness

Learning by doing. We learn everything by doing. I mean, how can you claim that you know to play guitar if all you’ve ever done is read tons of books on the topic but never held the actual instrument once? Same goes for self-help, personal development and self improvement. So many people (including me!) read so many theories, authors and techniques and just skip from one book to the other without seriously implementing any change or teaching. So my question is: how can stop skipping from one book to the other and really start implementing change in our life?

You need to raise your awareness. You not only need to KNOW that sticking to one (or just a few) self-help techniques is better, you also need to BELIEVE it. The most important part is therefore to stop looking for the perfect technique that is going to work for you, and to start working on any technique that YOU will make work. You need to switch the equation! Repetition does have an advantage though: it allows you to see that the only way up is by sticking to one technique and mastering it. This is true for any other lesson that we learn in life: we repeat the same stories over and over again until we have learned the lessons from them.learning by doing

Moreover, you cannot teach anything to anyone. You can only take care of your personal growth which can influence others to move in the same direction. You can read my article on “Can you help someone?” to learn more about this.

So I hope that you found and love your personal self-help techniques. In my case, I will focus on these in 2014:

6-Figure Kindle Club

Mental Bank Journal

Science of Getting Rich (by Bob Proctor)

… and of course, I will continue to post regularly on this blog which allows me to clarify my thoughts and put some order in my busy mind!

Martin xx