Shine Brighter Now

Rich Thinking Poor Thinking

Leave a comment

Rich Thinking Poor Thinking. I just finished reading Secrets of the Millionaire Mind by T Harv Eker. It struck me to realize how rich thinking differs from poor thinking in so many ways! He says for instance that poor people focus on their salaries, while the rich on their net worth. That’s a major difference! Instead of focussing on how much you earn, you focus on how much you’re worth. When focusing on what you earn, if you do end up earning more, you will simply increase your spendings simultaneously and will only see little difference. But when you focus on what you accumulate, you have a real incentive to increase your wealth! And it is so important to do so! I used to think that wealthy people were mean and greedy, but I don’t believe that anymore. I heard many times that money doesn’t change you, it simply amplifies the person you already are. So if you are a nice person, and have a lot of money, you’ll have the opportunity to be even nicer!

Rich Thinking Poor ThinkingAnother important point in the book is the “both” and “either/or” mentality. Poor people think in “either/or”, which means that they need to sacrifice something in order to get something else. On the other hand, rich people think “both”, meaning that they think creatively to come up with alternatives that will allow them to get both options they desire. The belief that I cannot have everything is a strong one in me. I did a little research and I found out that I’m not alone! The saying: “You can’t eat your cake and have it too” exists in many other languages, in very interesting variations. In French, the expression is: “You can’t have the butter and the money for the butter” And I like the version of Venezuela which goes: “You cannot have the bottle full and the girl drunk.”

I find it very sad that we are so conditioned to play small and to satisfy ourselves with as little as possible. I have grand ambitions and I’m proud of them because they allow me to grow and to become a better person. I wrote in my article Fearless Millionaire that wealth and fear are closely related. Bob Proctor also says time and again that goals are not for getting: they are made for expansion. I realize now more than ever that this is true. And I see what Marianne Williamson meant when she wrote that “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.” The more I break through my fears, the more I regain my power and the more I see no limit to where I can go and to what I can do. When I started my Master’s Degree in International Relations, I laughed at people who said they wanted to “save the world!” Now I see that this is part of my desires and I want to acquire massive wealth to do my share in distributing it more evenly on earth. I see this as a very important role I have to play.

And you? What are your beliefs and desires around money? Can you easily picture yourself being wealthy?

Click here to read more articles on Creating Wealth.

Author: Martin Pelletier

J'aide les gens à vivre leurs passions

Leave a comment